summer activities in taos

La Posada de Taos is centrally located in the town of Taos. Because Taos is a year-round resort town, there’s always lots to do within an easy walk or drive. We encourage you to look into any of the following interests and activities once you’ve chosen us.

Eco Tourism and Adventure Tourism

 

White Water Rafting the Rio Grande and Rio Chama Rivers:
Los Rios River Runners - www.losriosriverrunners.com
Cottam's Outdoor - www.cottamsoutdoor.com
Far Flung Adventures - www.farflung.com
Known World Guide Service - www.knownworldguides.com
New Wave Rafting Co. - www.newwaverafting.com

Ballooning:
Eske's Air Ventures / Paradise Ballooning - www.taosballooning.com
Pueblo Balloon Company - www.puebloballoon.com

Llama Treks:
El Paseo LLama Expeditions - www.elpaseollama.com
Wild Earth Llama Adventures - www.llamaadventures.com

Horseback Riding:
Taos Indian Horse Ranch - www.taosindianhorseranch.com
Taos Ski Valley Wilderness Adventures - (575) 751-6051
Bobcat Pass Wilderness Adventures - (575) 754-2769
Cieneguilla Stables - (575) 751-2815
Red River Stables - (575) 754-1700
Rio Grande Stables - (575) 776-5913
RoadRunner Horse Stable - (575) 377-6416

Fishing / Fly Fishing:
The Solitary Angler, Inc. - www.thesolitaryangler.com
Taos Fly Shop - www.taosflyshop.com
Cottam's Outdoor - www.cottamsoutdoor.com
Dos Amigos Anglers - (505) 377-6226
Tailwater Gallery and Fly Shop - (575) 758-5653

Art:
Taos Art Experiences - www.taosartexperiences.com
Harwood Museum of Art - http://www.harwoodmuseum.org
Taos Art Museum - www.taosartmuseum.org
Taos Historic Museums - www.taoshistoricmuseums.org
Blumenschein Home and Museum - (575) 758-0505
Hacienda de los Martinez - (575) 758-1000
Millicent Rodgers Museum - (575) 758-2462

Art Galleries:
Because Taos is a world-class art center, there are over 100 Art Galleries in and around Taos.  We recommend that you start at the Taos Art Gallery Association: www.taosgalleryassoc.com

Associations & Memberships
Member of Best Romantic Inns - http://www.bestromanticinns.com
New Mexico Bed & Breakfast Association - http://www.nmbba.org
Professional Association of Innkeepers International (PAII) - http://www.paii.org
Taos Association of Bed and Breakfast Inns - www.taos-bandb-inns.com

Food & Dining
New Mexico Restaurant Guide - http://www.nmrestaurants.com

Area Information & Resources
Current Weather Conditions in Taos - http://www.weather.com/weather/local/USNM0314
New Mexico Department of Tourism - http://newmexico.org
Taos County Chamber of Commerce - http://www.taoschamber.com
Taos, NM Guide at Yahoo! Travel - http://travel.yahoo.com
Taos Webb Guide - http://www.taoswebb.com
Taos Unlimited: A Comprehensive Guide to Taos, New Mexico - http://taos.nm-unlimited.net

Other Resources
Planning a Trip to Both Santa Fe and Taos?
Lodging in Santa Fe:  www.casacuma.com

Air Charter Service into Taos:
www.wildblueyonder.travel

Real Estate Information:
www.prudentialtaosrealestate.com

Other Inns We Love:
Adobe & Stars B&B - www.TaosAdobe.com